reinvention

maybe you haven’t noticed, but I have been reinventing myself.

trying to be more positive, trying to let the bad roll off my shoulders and trying to take in all the good I possibly can.

it’s hard sometimes!

but it feels so much better knowing that I’m trying to better myself and let all the negativity and hate in the world go.

as much as I’m doing this for me, I’m doing it for all of you, too. I think that we deserve to show our best selves for ourselves and for each and every one of our loved ones and even acquaintances.

as a part of this process, I’ve picked up probably 100 new hobbies.

that’s an exaggeration, but I have picked up quite a few.

my favorite one is the one that’s been the slowest starting. I don’t really start until Wednesday, and I’ve been working on getting it going since October of last year. I’m going to be a hospice volunteer, visiting people with a life expectancy of less than 6 months. I’m more excited about this opportunity than the job I just got, or picking up the ukulele, learning how to knit, building on my cooking and baking skills, getting back out to a barn to ride (and maybe even teach!), even more excited about hospice than this blog. None of that has my soul shaking with excitement like hospice care does.

I know, I know. “Haleigh, that’s so morbid. Haleigh, that’s so depressing.”

it’s not, though. As I set my first foot out through the entrance into the rest of my life, I can’t think of a better way to do it than to follow the tales of those making their final exit.

imagine the perspective they have to offer. The stories, life lessons. If they want to share that, I want to be who they share it to. All of the triumphs, the heartbreak, the ups, downs, failures, successes, the happy and the sad.

I can’t imagine a better way to enter the world than through the wake of those who’ve lived in it.

when this opportunity became real, when I realized I was really going to do it, that’s when I looked at myself and said, “I want to be more.”

I craved more skills, more knowledge, more adventure and more positive vibes.  Out of hospice came this blog, the ukulele, the knitting, reading, so on and so forth.

the hospice training in itself was a whole new hobby. They taught us how to reinvent the idea of dying as a last act of living. They introduced us to the sensational world of meditation (seriously, you should try it!), they taught us how even the selfless need to sometimes be selfish, and there’s nothing wrong with that at all.

At the end of the rope, I believe that volunteering with hospice will be a mutually beneficial walk in the practice of self-care.

I cannot wait to tell you more.

. . .

if you want to start a new hobby, comment what you’re thinking of doing! Or text me! Message me on Facebook! Let’s talk about how to get you started!

Leave a Reply

