speeding.

I’m not a particularly patient person when it comes to situations.

I’m patient when it comes to people, I can tolerate a lot of bullshit before I walk away.

but there is something about situational bullshit that really grinds my gears. Things that I should be able to control, going wrong. Can’t handle it. It may be a character flaw, but I own it.

my impatience translates to driving maybe a teensy bit faster than I probably should. I find driving the speed limit or under the speed limit physically painful.

I finally, after 6 years of driving, got caught for this “dangerous” habit of mine. There was no talking him out of it. Apparently Pennsylvania puts cops out specifically to ruin people’s holiday weekends. Honestly, that sounds like something Pennsylvania would do. I wasn’t surprised in the slightest when the cop was explaining it to me.

so not only did I get a ticket on Easter (thank you, Satan…), I got a ticket 45 minutes into a 3 hour trip back to my homeland, so I had approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes to think about what I did, and how I was going to break the news to my dad when I got home. It was probably the worst timeout of my entire life so far. I mean really, I did some bad stuff as a little kid, and they didn’t have me nearly as anxious as this did. Talk about dad killing Ralphie. Dad was about to kill me. I was about to kill me, honestly.

A speeding ticket? Really, Haleigh?

the universe was warning me, too. First, Stripper Scientist got one. Then, someone on my Snapchat got one. Finally, the night prior, my grandfather was warning me about increased police presence on the roads because of speeding. I should have known. Threes and sevens, baby, threes and sevens.

furthermore, I was riding on the high of an unexpected, and unexpectedly pleasant, text conversation with Timothy of all people. Yes, Timothy.

things were going too well. The universe decided it was time to knock me down a peg.

so my dad and I had a fun, recurring conversation revolving around safe driving and slowing the hell down, and my drive back up to Pennsylvania today made me want to drive my car, at the speed limit, into the barrier walls.

on the same road where I got my ticket, I threw my car into cruise control going 5 over. People flew past me. I sat with my legs folded up in the seat with me, head in hand, and talked myself into pulling off for Taco Bell.

oh, then Beckham decided he wants to be Facebook friends even though he owes me money. I can’t decide if he enjoys being tortured or just enjoys torturing me. I don’t know who is doing a better job of what right now.

stay tuned.

One thought on “speeding.

Leave a Reply

