moscow mules

Apparently I am a significant sphere of influence in my office.

This is surprising because everyone there is about 20-60 years my senior.

That actually also makes my level of influence less surprising. They see me as an expert on all things “pop culture.

Yesterday, my pseudo-boss, his daughter, his secretary and I all went on a philanthropic trip to an organization in Philly. After our visit, my pseudo-boss treated us all to lunch in King of Prussia. My office is pro-alcohol, so I scanned the drink menu so I would be prepared to lean on a drink choice should I have to do so.

It didn’t take long before I found the mule selection.

For those of you wondering what the hell a mule is…

no.

It’s not a donkey. It’s not a cross between a donkey and horse. Well, it is, but that’s not what I’m talking about.

A mule is a drink consisting of ginger beer, bitters, and lime juice, served in a chilled copper mug. Add in your favorite alcohol and you get the nationality of the drink. For example, if you want vodka, it’s a Moscow Mule. If you want whiskey, it’s an Irish Mule. If you want Tanqueray…that’s a cluster fuck. Don’t drink gin, kids.

Anyways, after explaining what a mule was to the secretary and my pseudo-boss’s daughter and detailing the ways in which it is the most refreshing alcoholic beverage one could ever receive, I convinced the entire table to order a mule. The ladies took my suggestion of a Moscow Mule with Tito’s. A safe, easy drink. The gentleman went with Tanqueray.

I created a monster out of the three of them.

I mean, they did not stop talking about these drinks.

No, really.

Today, we had an office meeting and my pseudo-boss made me take the floor to teach everyone what a mule was. Afterwards, I heard through the office hallways, “I’ll get the ginger beer!” “I want mine with Tanqueray!” “….moscow mule!”

I don’t know how to undo what I did. Also, this is the Iranian Isreali (every time!) dinner date guy‘s fault. He introduced me to the mule, pre-extravagant dinner.

Anyways, here is a recipe for a Moscow Mule. Because they are my favorite.

1.5 oz Tito’s vodka (seriously, only use Tito’s).

.5 – .75 cup ginger beer (depends on how strong you like your drinks, less ginger beer, stronger punch)

1 oz simple syrup or bitters

Lime wedge

on. the. rocks.

chilled copper mug

you are welcome.

 

DRINK RESPONSIBLY, GOD DAMMIT. 21+. DRINKING AND DRIVING WILL MAKE ME HATE YOU.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “moscow mules

Leave a Reply

