eat this week: hawaiian chicken

I can’t totally take credit for this recipe cause my dad planted the idea in my head a long time ago.

When I was around 10, my mom definitively went back to work and my dad started working from home. My mom went to work in the same public school system my sister and I attended, and as a result, our family was blessed(?, lol) to have family dinner every night. Apparently that’s like… not a thing in most families. Didn’t know that until I got older. Recently, I’ve learned most families are broken. I guess it’s hard to remember that statistics are a reflection of reality – over 50% of marriages do end in divorce. So over 50% of families probably don’t have family dinner every night. So yeah, I’m gonna go with blessed.

My dad became the cook when the job transitioning of 2002/2003 occurred, and it never shifted back.

My dad refers to himself as a short order cook, he has a finite list of things he makes, and only sometimes will incorporate something new to the mix.

One of the staples was Hawaiian pork.

I didn’t have pork. But I did have the pre-made marinade and chicken. I dressed up the classic a little more than my dad ever did, and so, without further adieu:

-Hawaiian Chicken-

1 – 12 oz Bottle Lawry’s Hawaiian marinade

2 – skinless chicken breasts of unnaturally large proportions

3 – peppers. I went red, orange, yellow

1 – yellow onion, medium

1 – 16 oz can pineapple chunks

1 cup – brown rice

red pepper flakes

sesame seeds

olive oil

pepper

Directions…kinda:

  1. slice chicken horizontally, if you don’t know what I mean by that, leave. put the chicken in a gallon plastic bag. add like, a third? of the Hawaiian marinade in. tussle. let sit IN YOUR FRIDGE for 30 minutes to an hour or overnight.
  2. slice peppers and onion. drain (and rinse) pineapple (if you’re an unobservant cow like me and got the pineapples in heavy syrup). throw peppers and onion into a frying pan with a drizzle of oil. I added some black pepper.
  3. start your rice. I’m not explaining how to boil freaking water again so go find the last recipe if you seriously don’t know how to make rice.
  4. get the chicken in a frying pan.  cover the chicken with a lid and let that cook up til it’s looking basically done. add some more marinade and red pepper. I really didn’t measure it, you need to eye it. save some for the veggies later. you’ll take the lid off and let the juices reduce into a syrup.
  5. veggies – hope you’ve been stirring them. add red pepper, sesame seeds and pineapple chunks along with a bit of the marinade. what’s good with your rice, are you even paying attention? let the pineapple and veggie mix cook down a little more.
  6. that’s basically it. I think you can handle it from here.

 

giphy

Leave a Reply

